Faculty of Science researchers win Eureka prizes for ‘Outstanding Mentor’ and ‘Future Leader’

27 August 2015

Professor Marilyn Renfree AO and Dr Phillip Urquijo from the Faculty of Science were awarded prestigious Australian Museum Eureka Prizes at a ceremony at the Sydney Town Hall last night.

Dr Urquijo, from the School of Physics and ARC Centre of Excellence for Particle Physics at the Terrascale (CoEPP) won the 3M Eureka Prize for Emerging Leader in Science for his role as the physics coordinator at the Belle II particle accelerator experiment in Japan, a collaboration between 99 organisations from 23 different countries.

Professor Renfree, a developmental and evolutionary zoologist from the School of BioSciences, won the 2015 University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers, in recognition of three decades of inspirational mentoring of young researchers, particularly women.

Read more at Science Matters.