About us

Through the quality of our research and teaching, the Faculty of Science enjoys a strong reputation, both nationally and internationally.

The Faculty of Science is a thriving, passionate and internationally networked community with a history of leadership in research, innovation, teaching and learning. Comprising seven schools, the Faculty offers a range of undergraduate, honours, graduate and research degrees; enrolling over 6,500 undergraduate and graduate students. We also provide community services and industry partnerships based on a solid foundation of research in the pure, and applied sciences.

We have active involvement in a number of competitively funded research centres, and our scientists include twenty five (25) Fellows of learned academies and seven (7) ARC Federation and Laureate Fellows.

The Faculty of Science also plays an important role in Australia’s participation in the global knowledge economy. We partake in collaborative research ventures, staff and student exchanges, and overseas student recruitment – all of which ensures Melbourne Science maintains an international perspective.

Dean's welcome

A message from Professor Karen Day, Dean of Science.

Read more


The Faculty of Science is comprised of seven schools.

Read more


The Faculty of Science is located on three campuses throughout Victoria.

Read more

Our history

The Faculty of Science is one of the oldest in Australia.

Read more

EHS committee

The Faculty of Science Environmental Health and Safety Committee.

Read more

Contact us

Contact information for each area of the Faculty of Science.

Read more